This is where skaters become stars. Before they represent the U.S. at the Winter Olympics, they make a name for themselves here.

The U.S. Figure Skating Championships determine the national champions across several skating disciplines and help determine which skaters represent the U.S. in international competitions like the Winter Olympics, World Championships and Four Continents Championships. Athletes qualify for the U.S. Figure Skating Championships in a handful of ways — finish top five in the previous year’s senior competition, win a medal at the most recent World Championships or Winter Olympics or qualify for a Grand Prix Final.

The first U.S. Figure Skating Championships were in New Haven, Conn. in 1914 and they’ve been held nearly every year since. The week-long event has been in Ohio four times previously (Cincinnati once and Cleveland three times). it will come to Columbus for the first time in 2024 at Nationwide Arena.

Here are some of the top moments from the 2022 and 2023 Championships.

2023 Highlights

Notable Women’s Champions 

  • Peggy Fleming (5x)
  • Dorothy Hamill (3x)
  • Kristi Yamaguchi
  • Tara Lipinski
  • Michelle Kwan (9x)
  • Ashley Wagner (3x)
  • ‚ÄčGracie Gold (3x) 

Levito Slays Audience in 2022

Notable Men’s Champions 

  • Scott Hamilton (4x)
  • Brian Boitano (4x)
  • Todd Eldredge (6x)
  • Jeremy Abbot (4x)
  • Johnny Weir (3x)
  • Adam Rippon
  • ‚ÄčNathan Chen (6x)